Weekly Poll

This is Homecoming week at Powell High School. Did you enjoy high school?



January 08, 2009 3:46 am

Five Panthers nominated for football scholarships

Written by Tribune Staff

Awards banquet scheduled for March 21

Eighty-three scholar-athletes from 31 Wyoming schools have been nominated for scholarships and recognition by the Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame. Of those nominees, five are from Powell High School — Trevor Donarski, Matt Kifer, Matt McArthur, Galen Mills and Gavin Mills.

Donarski, McArthur, Galen Mills and Gavin Mills were named to the Class 4A All-State squad following the 2008 season, and Kifer made a number of major contributions for the Panthers last year, particularly on the defensive side of the ball.

For Gavin Mills, his selection comes on the heels of being nominated for an appointment to the United States Air Force Academy by U.S. Senator John Barrasso, R-Wyo. Gavin Mills, a standout receiver and defensive back, announced last year that he had verbally committed to play football for the Falcons.

The players nominated for the scholarships have been invited to attend the Wyoming Chapter's 15th annual awards banquet March 21 at the Hilton Garden Inn and University of Wyoming Conference Center in Laramie.

'The Wyoming Chapter also will recognize scholar-athlete courage and perseverance award winners at the event and honor selected state residents for their respective lifetime contributions to amateur football, coaching, officiating and fandom.

Mike Schutte, Wyoming Chapter president, said the 83 nominations were made by prep coaches from the state based upon each player's academic achievement, football skill and community involvement. Each nominee will receive a certificate from the Wyoming Chapter. From that pool of nominees, 10 finalists will be chosen. Each of Wyoming's five classifications will have a lineman and back named as a recipient of a $1,200 scholarship and plaque. Those finalists also will have their names inscribed at the National College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind. The state's top scholar-athlete also will receive an additional $1,200 scholarship.

Also during the awards banquet, Schutte said two scholar-athletes from the University of Wyoming will be honored for their efforts in athletics and the classroom.

The following is a complete list of nominees:

Phillip Hoffman, Riverside; James Caines, Riverside; Jeff Joyce, Riverside; Cole Mosegard, Riverside; Benjamin Howard, Big Piney; Michael Alzheimer, Big Horn; Cheston Feaster, Big Horn; Ian Scofield, Big Horn; Tyler Gibbs, Buffalo; Casey Goehring, Burns; Duell Petsch, Burns; Cody Weathermon, Burns; Kevin Bell, Kelly Walsh; Sterling Dockweiler, Kelly Walsh; Joe Munsell, Kelly Walsh; Tom Earl, Natrona County; Max Gustafson, Natrona County; Chris Honken, Natrona County; Ryan Murphy, Natrona County; Zach Powell, Natrona County; Justin Roberts, Cheyenne Central; Matthew Dilsaver, Cheyenne East; Royce Fertig, Cheyenne East; Stephen Francis, Cheyenne East; Tyler Haak, Cheyenne East; Ty Jenkins, Cheyenne East; Jared Krysl, Cheyenne East; Isaac Lopez-Smith, Cheyenne East; Nathan Massie, Cheyenne East; Casey Mayer, Cheyenne East; Marcus Phippin, Cheyenne East; Glen Clinton, Cody; Eric Dickerman, Cody; Dayton McMillan, Cody; Andrew Petersen, Cokeville; Sullivan Teichert, Cokeville; Ryan Adams, Douglas; Cody Bohlander, Douglas; Daniel Hancock, Douglas; Shane Richendifer, Douglas; Jacob Vogel, Douglas; Chad McKinney, Saratoga; Spencer Bruce, Campbell County; Garrett Heusinkveld, Campbell County; Derrek Jerred, Campbell County; Michael Pokallus, Campbell County; Jared Wass, Campbell County; Duncan Jones, Wright; Joseph Cotton, Glenrock; Casey Hoskinson, Glenrock; Ryan Lee, Glenrock; Drew Nielsen, Glenrock; Derek Sibrel, Glenrock; Nathan Bayles, Green River; Andrew Meredith, Green River; Trevor Jensen, Greybull; Rage Geringer, Guernsey-Sunrise; Shane Black, Kemmerer; Nicholas Housley, Kemmerer; David Paulson, Kemmerer; Brian Welsh, Kemmerer; Alan Hill, Lingle/Fort Laramie; Chase Potter, Lingle/Fort Laramie; Bret Klopp, Lander Valley; Brady Buer, Moorcroft; Jake Bullinger, Mountain View; Travis Werner, Pine Bluffs; Trevor Donarski, Powell; Matthew Kifer, Powell; Matthew McArthur, Powell; Galen Mills, Powell; Gavin Mills, Powell; Bryan McIntyre, Sheridan; Justin Will, Sheridan; Hayden Johnston, Sundance; Justin Briggs, Southeast; Trevor Ross, Southeast; Kyle Lenz, Wheatland; Jon Gehrts, Worland; Matthew Grenier, Worland; Taylor Reuer, Worland; Joseph Salzman, Worland; Rudolph Toman, Worland.