Wrestling hosts home duals to kick off season

Posted 12/15/20

Like other winter sports, PHS wrestling began its 2020-21 season on Friday, with a two-day dual invite hosted at the high school. Competing mostly against schools from Class 4A, the 3A Panthers won …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Wrestling hosts home duals to kick off season


Like other winter sports, PHS wrestling began its 2020-21 season on Friday, with a two-day dual invite hosted at the high school. Competing mostly against schools from Class 4A, the 3A Panthers won one of their six team matches over the weekend.

Powell kicked off the competition with a dual against Thunder Basin High School of Gillette. The Bolts took this event by a score of 60-21. PHS wrestlers who won their matches were Seth Horton, Emma Karhu, Logan Werner and Stetson Davis.

Against Campbell County, the Camels took the dual 52-30. Weston Thomas, Lannon Brazelton, Karson Lamb, Horton and Davis won their bouts against the Gillette school.

Natrona County also picked up a 53-29 win over Powell. Horton, Davis, Lamb and Hadley Mehling were the Panthers’ winners.

PHS capped off Friday afternoon with its first win: a 30-12 victory over Buffalo. Winners were Brent Childers, Clayton Emmett, Horton, Davis and Lamb.

Powell picked up the next day with duals against Lander Valley and Sheridan.

The Panthers dropped the Lander dual 54-30. Horton, Davis, Lamb, Emmett and Thomas won their bouts.

They finished Saturday with a 69-12 loss to Sheridan, with Horton and Karhu being the only Panthers to win matches.

Horton was the team’s only undefeated wrestler on the weekend, with Davis, Karhu, Lamb, Emmett and Thomas all picking up multiple victories as well.

The Panthers will return to the mat Friday and Saturday with a dual invite in Gillette.


Full results:

Thunder Basin 60, PHS 21

106: Rex Imus (Thunder Basin) over Trey Freemen (Fall 0:00)

113: Iven Wold (Thunder Basin) (Forfeit)

120: Logan Werner over Alex Draper (Thunder Basin) (Fall 4:00)

126: Jeric Igo (Thunder Basin) over Weston Thomas (Fall 3:10)

132: Emma Karhu over Parker Lee (Thunder Basin) (Fall 0:50)

138: Dylan Catlin (Thunder Basin) over Brent Childers (Fall 0:50)

145: Seamus Casey (Thunder Basin) over Jack Van Norman (Fall 0:54)

152: Seth Horton over Cael Porter (Thunder Basin) (Dec 7-2)

160: Deyton Johnson (Thunder Basin) over Merced Jordan-Silva (Fall 0:53)

170: Stetson Davis over Garrett Toohey (Thunder Basin) (Fall 0:52)

182: Aden Jorgensen (Thunder Basin) over Lannon Brazelton (Fall 1:30)

195: Aidyn Mitchell (Thunder Basin) over Karson Lamb (Fall 1:59)

220: Lane Catlin (Thunder Basin) over Clayton Emmett (Fall 0:10)

285: Dylan Skillings (Thunder Basin) over Nevan McDonald (Fall 1:03)


Campbell County 52, PHS 30

106: Hayden Welsh (Campbell County) over Trey Freemen (Fall 0:24)

113: Darron Provost (Campbell County) (Forfeit)

120: Colt Welsh (Campbell County) over Logan Werner (MD 16-2)

126: Weston Thomas over Andrew Garcia (Campbell County) (Fall 0:27)

132: Lucas Hill (Campbell County) over Emma Karhu (Fall 1:03)

138: Alex Eisenbraun (Campbell County) over Brent Childers (Fall 1:30)

145: Blake Harding (Campbell County) over Jack Van Norman (Fall 1:45)

152: Seth Horton over Kiefer Gossel (Campbell County) (Fall 0:38)

160: Hunter Henderson (Campbell County) over Merced Jordan-Silva (Fall 1:34)

170: Stetson Davis over Kendall McKee (Campbell County) (Fall 5:03)

182: Lannon Brazelton over Cohen Granzer (Campbell County) (Fall 2:26)

195: Karson Lamb over Michael Clyde (Campbell County) (Fall 0:43)

220: Jack Tinnell (Campbell County) over Clayton Emmett (Fall 1:16)

285: Sheldon Rollo (Campbell County) over Nevan McDonald (Fall 1:06)


Natrona County 53, PHS 29

106: Kaden Orr (Natrona County)

113: Jay Trujillo (Natrona County) (Forfeit)

120: Hadley Mehling over Austin Blajszczak (Natrona County) (Fall 3:05)

126: Nathaniel Sausedo (Natrona County) over Weston Thomas (TF 16-0 4:00)

132: Dylan Brenton (Natrona County) over Emma Karhu (Fall 5:03)

138: Kyler Henderson (Natrona County) over Brent Childers (Fall 3:38)

145: Cyruss Meeks (Natrona County) over Jack Van Norman (Fall 3:15)

152: Seth Horton over Noah Sides (Natrona County) (TF 18-1 3:36)

160: Rhett Buhler (Natrona County) over Carter Gines (Fall 1:04)

170: Stetson Davis over Riley Dye (Natrona County) (Fall 1:28)

182: Lannon Brazelton over Tucker Magrum (Natrona County) (Fall 1:40)

195: Karson Lamb over Davis Knight (Natrona County) (Fall 1:35)

220: Jack Mortimer (Natrona County) (Forfeit)

285: D`Anthony Smith (Natrona County) (Forfeit)


PHS 30, Buffalo 12

120: Teila Peters (Buffalo) over Hadley Mehling (Fall 2:34)

138: Brent Childers over Colton Briscoe (Buffalo) (Fall 0:47)

152: Seth Horton over Hazen Camino (Buffalo) (Fall 0:49)

170: Stetson Davis over Benjamin Camino (Buffalo) (Fall 5:10)

182: Jace Skovgard (Buffalo) over Lannon Brazelton (Fall 1:22)

195: Karson Lamb over Miles Packard (Buffalo) (Fall 1:03)

220: Clayton Emmett over Quinten Williams (Buffalo) (Fall 2:51)


Lander Valley 54, PHS 30

106: Coaltyn Laird (Lander) (Forfeit)

113: Aiden Miller (Lander) (Forfeit)

120: Blaze Laird (Lander) over Hadley Mehling (Fall 1:02)

126: Weston Thomas over Chad Snyder (Lander) (Fall 1:26)

132: Charles Snyder (Lander) over Emma Karhu (Fall 3:18)

138: Paxton Rees (Lander) over Brent Childers (Fall 2:23)

145: Gabe Harris (Lander) over Jack Van Norman (Fall 2:26)

152: Seth Horton over Conor Carey (Lander) (Fall 1:09)

160: John Whitley (Lander) over Merced Jordan-Silva (Fall 3:24)

170: Stetson Davis over (Lander) (Forfeit)

182: Jack Sweeney (Lander) over Lannon Brazelton (Fall 1:34)

195: Karson Lamb over (Lander) (Forfeit)

220: Clayton Emmett over (Lander) (Forfeit)

285: Cody Cunningham (Lander) over Nevan McDonald (Fall 0:26)


Sheridan 69, PHS 12

106: Cole Riesen (Sheridan) (Forfeit)

113: Kolten Powers (Sheridan) (Forfeit)

120: Landon Wood (Sheridan) over Hadley Mehling (Fall 1:01)

126: Dylan Goss (Sheridan) over Weston Thomas (Fall 1:18)

132: Emma Karhu over Cameron Sanburn (Sheridan) (Fall 4:42)

138: Hunter Goodwin (Sheridan) over Brent Childers (Fall 1:01)

145: Reese Osborne (Sheridan) over Jack Van Norman (Fall 1:28)

152: Seth Horton over Terran Grooms (Sheridan) (Fall 2:17)

160: Colson Coon (Sheridan) over Carter Gines (Fall 0:40)

170: Hayden Crow (Sheridan) over Stetson Davis (Fall 0:26)

182: Brock Steel (Sheridan) over Lannon Brazelton (Fall 1:13)

195: Aiden Selcher (Sheridan) over Karson Lamb (Dec 8-6)

220: Quinton Mangus (Sheridan) (Forfeit)

285: Justin Vela (Sheridan) over Nevan McDonald (Fall 0:26)