Candidates line up for special districts

Posted 9/3/20

On the lower parts of their general election ballots, local voters will have numerous choices to make, with contested races for the Powell school board, Northwest College Board of Trustees, Powell …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Candidates line up for special districts


On the lower parts of their general election ballots, local voters will have numerous choices to make, with contested races for the Powell school board, Northwest College Board of Trustees, Powell hospital board and other special districts.

On the Park County School District No. 1 Board of Trustees, incumbent trustees Kimberly Condie, Kim Dillivan and Tracy Morris are seeking re-election, while challengers Laura Riley and Sharea Lindae Moan Renaud are also bidding for three available seats on the board.

The competition has also stacked up for the Northwest College board.

In the race for one Powell area seat, incumbent Mark Wurtzel is being challenged by Bill Johnson and Karen Elton, who ran for the NWC board in 2018. Two Cody area seats are also available, with trustee Bob Newsome running for re-election and Tara Kuipers and Richard Jones vying to join the board. (Jones, who made an unsuccessful bid for the state Senate in last month’s Republican primary election, is also running for a seat on the Cody Conservation District board.) Current Cody area trustee Luke Anderson decided not to seek re-election after serving one term.

Finally, Meeteetse area representative Larry Todd, who was appointed to the NWC board in July to replace Nada Larsen, is running unopposed in his bid for a full term as a trustee.

The Powell Hospital District also has three seats available and four candidates in the running.

Incumbent Bonita Katz is running for re-election, while Bob Graff, Richard Stearns and Syd Thompson are looking to become board members. The winners will serve not only on the hospital district board, which owns the actual facilities on the Powell Valley Healthcare campus, but also on the board of Powell Valley Healthcare, a nonprofit organization that runs the organization. Current board members Larry Parker and Deb Kleinfeldt have opted to end their tenures on the board, with Parker resigning earlier this year.

The Powell Clarks-Fork Conservation District will also see two new leaders. Floyd Derry and Shane Smith, trustees representing the district’s rural areas, are not seeking re-election. Three candidates are seeking to replace them: Voters will choose between Greg Mayton, Neil Christofferson and Abby Shuler. Conservation districts implement various programs to conserve natural resources, ranging from education efforts to water quality sampling.

Meanwhile, the Crown Hill Cemetery District — which oversees the cemetery east of Powell — has four candidates for three available seats. Incumbent trustees Ben D. Keller, Bill Metzler and Thompson are seeking re-election, while Fred Muffley is looking to join the board.

There was less interest in the Park County Fire District No. 1 board of directors, which oversees the operations and facilities of the Powell Volunteer Fire Department. Roger Easum is seeking another term as a director for district two and Scott Heny is seeking re-election in district four.

Once again, the race for the Cody school board has drawn the most interest among Park County’s special district races; nine candidates are running for four seats on the board.

Incumbent trustees Tom Keegan and Stefanie Bell — who made an unsuccessful run for the state Senate in the Republican primary — are seeking re-election. Meanwhile, Ryan Brown Sheri Schutzman, Tim Lasseter, Charles Yates, April Conaway, Jessica Case and Norm Sedig are all looking to join the Cody board.

Successful candidates for the school and NWC boards will take office on Dec. 1, while other elected officials generally assume their duties on Jan. 4.

The general election takes place on Nov. 3, with early voting starting on Sept. 18. Some 6,200 absentee ballots have already been requested, Park County Clerk Colleen Renner said Tuesday.

Election 2020