Powell, WY


Humidity: 56%

Wind: 11 mph



JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 78

Linton’s Big R captures Minors Division title

A true pitcher’s duel settled the championship of the Minors Division tournament for Powell Little League on Wednesday evening. Linton’s Big R hurler Jeremy Herd  went toe-to-toe with Production Machine’s Carson Heinen before watching a late-game rally deliver a 5-4 win to Linton’s Big R.

Herd struck out nine batters before Colin Queen tagged in and delivered three more K’s as the depth of the Red Sox arms proved to be a difference maker.

A Herd also provided some damage at the plate as Jacob Herd led off the game with a hit and moved around to score following singles from Garrett Stutzman and Queen to open the scoring.

Heinen countered in the second inning, slapping a double and manuevering around the bases via some nifty base running before Herd fanned three Dodgers batters to end the inning.

Jett Flores’ double just inside the third base bag provided Linton’s with an RBI in the third inning, lifting the team into the lead once more. The lead was short-lived though as Heinen and Kaelen Groves started a rally with one-out singles. Seth Horton loaded the bases after being hit by a pitch and all three would eventually score to give Production Machine a 4-2 lead.

The Red Sox clinched the game in the bottom of the fourth against Dodgers’ reliever Groves. Dylan Cordes and Zach Cole drew walks. Flores was hit by a pitch to load the sacks with Linton’s Big R players.

A steal of home by Cordes narrowed the gap to 4-3. A double steal following a strikeout moved the tying and winning runs into scoring position. Stutzman’s base hit brought Cole across to tie the contest. Queen followed by lofting a hit into the outfield for the game-winning RBI, allowing Flores to score the winning run without a throw to the plate.

Heinen struck out seven for the Dodgers on the hill.

In consolation action, the Discount Appliance Orioles scored a 10-3 win over the Smooth Edge Design A’s.

Cory Linebaugh and Nick Fulton each reached base and scored for the A’s in the contest. No information was received from the Orioles for the game.

In earlier tournament games:

Production Machine 5,

Discount Appliance 2

Trevor Groves scored on a single from Carson Heinen, who struck out five in two innings of work on the hill for Production Machine. The Dodgers stretched their lead to 3-0 in the second inning before Discount Appliance got on the board. Production Machine added two more in the fifth against Discount Appliance’s Reece Hackenberg, who threw a solid five-strikeout game for Discount Appliance.

Smooth Edge Design 8,


Jacob Harrison went 3-for-3 at the plate with three runs scored and two RBIs. Corey Linebaugh delivered an inside-the-park home run. Jaxson Carter threw two innings, allowing two runs and striking out four. For KPOW, Dacen Phister doubled in the game.

Linton’s Big R 8,

Smooth Edge Design 3

A committe approach from Robert Sessions, Zane Cordes and Garrett Stutzman on the hill resulted in a combined no-hitter as Linton’s Big R advanced to the title game. Jacob Herd scored twice for the Red Sox in the victory. Corey Linebaugh, Noah Mumford and Isaac Gutierrez each scored for the A’s. Gutierrez also threw out a pair of would-be base stealers.

All Star team named

The All-Star team members from the Minors Division were recently named. Those selected to participate in the post-season included Jaxson Carter, Jacob Harrison, Kanyon Gann, Cameron Wentz, Kaelan Groves, Carson Heinen, Bennett Walker, Reece Hackenberg, Ben Jackson, Charlie Whitlock, Jacob Herd, Jeremy Herd, Colin Queen and Robert Sessions. Coaches for the group include Dane Herd, Chris Queen and Dave Heinen.

The team will play July 6 at Otto in preparation for a July 8-9 tournament in Cody. The All-Stars’ area tournament will take place in Powell on July 11-13 with teams from Cody and Lovell participating. The two top finishers will advance to the district tournament in Lyman on July 18-20.

Powell Little League was also able to assemble a second team of mostly 9-year-olds to compete in the Cody tournament. That squad consists of Trenton Wilson, Corey Linebaugh, Ashton Cole, Dacen Phister, Bo Dearcorn, Wyatt Henderson, Aiden Jacobsen, Kaiden Brown, Jessie Brown, Nathen Brown, Garrett Stutzman, Dylan Cordes and Zane Cordes. Coaches for this group will be Victor Cordes and Scotty Brown.

Leave a comment

All comments are initially screened to avoid spam and profanity, and your comment may take some time to appear on the site. The Powell Tribune reserves the right to not publish inappropriate comments.
Fields marked (*) are required.


Get all the latest Powell news by subscribing to the Powell Tribune today!

Click here to find out more!


Our paper can be delivered right to your e-mail inbox with a subscription to the Powell Tribune!

Find out more here!

Stay Connected

Keep up with Powell news by liking us on Facebook or following us on Twitter.

Go to top