Mostly Cloudy


Powell, WY

Mostly Cloudy

Humidity: 34%

Wind: 4 mph



JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 78

Five Panthers earn all-conference

Two girls, three boys honored in 3A West Division Basketball

Two members of the state-qualifying Powell High School girls’ basketball team and three members of the Panther boys’ basketball team have received all-conference honors in the 3A West.

Seniors Leslie Thronburg, Olivia Rogers and Zane Bushnell, junior Chase Partridge and sophomore Marshall McArthur were selected by the conference’s coaches for recognition. All five were also considered for all-state designation, but did not appear when those rosters were released.

Thronburg finished her senior season shooting 45 percent from the floor. She paced the Panther girls with 10.9 points, 3.8 assists and 2.0 steals per game.

Rogers ranked second on the Panther roster in scoring, averaging nine points per game. She was also the team’s leading rebounder, hauling down 7.1 boards per contest as she started every contest in her senior season. Rogers led the Panthers with 53 percent shooting accuracy from the floor.

On the boys’ side, Bushnell ranked among the state’s top defenders, producing 3.1 steals per game. He also led the Panthers by distributing 2.8 assists per outing and finished his year averaging 6.3 points and four rebounds as the Panther boys finished 13-11 overall and tied atop the 3A West standings with an 11-3 conference record.

Partridge led the team in most offensive categories as a junior. He finished the year averaging 17.3 points and 7.4 rebounds. Over the course of the season, Partridge connected for 103 field goals, finishing with 329 points scored. Defensively, Partridge paced Powell with 1.5 blocked shots each game and also contributed 1.8 steals per night.

McArthur led Powell in 3-point baskets this season, connecting for 26 long-range buckets on the year. He was also the team’s No. 2 scorer with 9.2 points per night. He also finished second with 51 assists and 26 blocked shots on the year.

Other girls’ all-conference selections from the 3A West included Kelsey Frost, Bridget Schumacher and Danielle Skinner of Cody; Abbey Armijo and Jacee Phillips of Jackson; Shanda Post and Kristi Ragan of Lander; Conner Limoges and Shai Russell of Lyman; Tawny Bugas, Emily Smith and Stephanie Smith from Mountain View and Michelle Reutter and Taylar Kellar of Worland.

The remaining all-conference boys’ selections were Evan Kuchel and Brady Guide of Cody; Jordan King, Michael Leahey and Coline Thiel of Jackson; Tanner Simpson, Lucas Watkins and Austin Roberts of Lander; Cisco Taylor of Lyman; Justin Maldonado of Mountain View and Logan Frandson, Devin Gonsalez and Ethan Ryan of Worland.

Leave a comment

All comments are initially screened to avoid spam and profanity, and your comment may take some time to appear on the site. The Powell Tribune reserves the right to not publish inappropriate comments.
Fields marked (*) are required.


Get all the latest Powell news by subscribing to the Powell Tribune today!

Click here to find out more!


Our paper can be delivered right to your e-mail inbox with a subscription to the Powell Tribune!

Find out more here!

Stay Connected

Keep up with Powell news by liking us on Facebook or following us on Twitter.

Go to top