Powell, WY


Humidity: 24%

Wind: 7 mph

Cowboy wide receiver on Biletnikoff watch list

LARAMIE — University of Wyoming senior wide receiver Dominic Rufran was one of 55 college receivers named to the 2014 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List.

The list was released Tuesday by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the award. It marked the second consecutive season that Rufran has been selected to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List.

Each season since 1994, the Biletnikoff Award has been presented to recognize the outstanding receiver in college football. Former Wyoming Cowboy Marcus Harris won the Biletnikoff Award in 1996.

The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of more than 221 prominent college football journalists, commentators and former receivers. Receivers may be added to the watch list as their season performances dictate.

According to TQC Foundation Chairman Charles Hopkins, “Given the significant number of excellent college receivers playing this season, the race for the 2014 Biletnikoff Award will be the most entertaining and wide-open in many yeaars.”

Rufran led the Wyoming Cowboys in receptions (75) and receiving yards (960) as a junior in 2013. He fell just 40 yards shy of a 1,000-yard receiving season. The Colorado Springs native also caught eight touchdown passes in 2013. He recorded four 100-yard receiving games as a junior, including 120 yards at Nebraska, 117 at Air Force, 135 versus Colorado State and 121 against Hawaii.

Rufran enters his senior season ranked No. 7 in school history in career receptions (158) and No. 10 in career receiving yards (1,891). His 15 career TD receptions ranks him No. 6 all-time in Wyoming school history.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation will announce the 10 Biletnikoff Award semifinalists Nov. 17. The three finalists will be announced a week later on Nov. 24.

For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, please consult the Foundation website at

The 2014 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on Dec. 11, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 5-7 p.m., on ESPN.

Leave a comment

All comments are initially screened to avoid spam and profanity, and your comment may take some time to appear on the site. The Powell Tribune reserves the right to not publish inappropriate comments.
Fields marked (*) are required.


Get all the latest Powell news by subscribing to the Powell Tribune today!

Click here to find out more!


Our paper can be delivered right to your e-mail inbox with a subscription to the Powell Tribune!

Find out more here!

Stay Connected

Keep up with Powell news by liking us on Facebook or following us on Twitter.

Go to top