Weekly Poll

Do you think crowdfunding can work in Powell?



February 19, 2009 4:50 am

Trio of Panthers selected for Shrine Bowl

Written by Tribune Staff

Game will be June 13 at NCHS

Three seniors from Powell High School have been selected to play in the 36th annual Shrine Bowl of Wyoming.

According to a press release issued by T.J. Claunch, executive director of the Shrine Bowl of Wyoming, Panthers Trevor Donarski, Galen Mills and Gavin Mills will help fill out the roster of the North All-Star team. The game will be played June 13 in Casper at Natrona County High School. Kickoff for the game is set for 7 p.m., and pre-game ceremonies are slated to begin at 6:15 p.m.

Donarski finished the season ranked seventh in Class 4A for average defensive points per game (16.1). On offense, he led the Panthers in receptions (27) and receiving yards (357). He also rushed for 217 yards on 49 attempts and was ranked third on the team for all-purpose yardage per contest (70.7).

Galen Mills, who recently inked a letter of intent to play football for Carroll College, ended the 2008 season ranked third in passing with 119.5 yards per game. The quarterback also was third in Class 3A for all-purpose yardage (160.3). On defense, he was second on the team with four interceptions.

Gavin Mills, who recently signed a certificate of intent to continue his education and football careers at the United States Air Force Academy, also enjoyed another solid year on the gridiron in 2008.

From his receiver position, Gavin Mills caught 18 passes for 257 yards and four touchdowns and posted the team's fourth-best all-purpose yardage total with 37 yards per game.

From his spot in the defensive backfield, Gavin Mills was third on the team with 10.7 defensive points per game and led the squad in interceptions with five.

Cody High School's Cris Williams will serve as head coach of the North All-Stars. His assistant coaches will be Shawn Allred (Cody), Vic Wilkerson (Campbell County), Larry Yeradi (Wright), Mike McGuire (Riverside) and Zeb Hagen (Meeteetse).

The following is a list of the players chosen for the North All-Star squad's roster:

• Campbell County High School: Logan Pokallus, Spencer Bruce, Garrett Heusenkveld, Derrek Jerred, and Zack Looney.
• Kelly Walsh: Sterling Dockweiler.
• Natrona County: Nick Elliott and Chris Honken.
• Sheridan: Justin Will, Logan Martinez and Mitch Hoy.
• Buffalo: Dan Long, Steven Iberlin, Tyler Gibbs and Robby Trabing.
• Cody: Dayton McMillan, Sam Werner and Glen Clinton.
• Lander: Matt Baker and Bret Klopp.
• Powell: Trevor Donarski, Gavin Mills and Galen Mills.
• Lovell: Steven Durtsche and Grant Geiser.
• Moorcroft: Bryan Renneisen.
• Newcastle: Matt Gregory and Nick Pisciotti.
• Wright: Duncan Jones.
• Big Horn: Tim Mendoza, Matt Metzger and Michael Alzheimer.
• Greybull: Kyle Ellison.
• Riverside: Matt Craft.
• Wind River: Pete Babione.
• Burlington: Spencer Flores

Alternates for the North All-Star team include alternates Sean Thompson (Rocky Mountain), Spencer Steele (Jackson Hole), Kevin Bell (Kelly Walsh), Austin Coyle (Riverton), Jesse Wolf (Wright), Ryan Dunn (Tongue River), Jeff Joyce (Riverside), Todd Davidson (Burlilngton), Ryan Kinzer (Buffalo), Taylor Reuer (Worland), Michael Peterson (Moorcroft) and Cody Tweeten (Campbell County).